The Five Stages of Grief

The Five Stages of Grief:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

I know them well. I’ve gone through them countless times with both my brothers, but more often with the one who recently died. He’s been on the brink of death many times. But somehow, he’d always managed to make it back from the edge. Being with him so close to death so many times, I thought I’d gotten to Acceptance. I thought his ultimate death would be a relief.

I was wrong.

In cycling through grief, there is still the hope that this time the sobriety will stick. Or this time he’s hit rock bottom and will stop drinking again. No matter how bad things get, there is always hope.

But now, there is no hope.

Oh the finality of death. I didn’t realize I had this much grieving left to do. I thought I’d been wrung dry.

I was wrong.


About UB Ella

UB Ella (f/k/a Unconfirmed Bachelorette) is a 50-something recovered lawyer who left the practice of law to embrace a full-time writing life. Never-married, child-free Ella resides in Austin, Texas and Ontario, Canada with her four bad cats.
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Death and Grief, Death of a sibling, Grieving, Stages of Grief and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Five Stages of Grief

  1. free penny press says:

    I understand…


  2. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    I completely connected to what you said about always having had that hope, feeling wrung dry and still having mourning to do.

    I’m so sorry.


Leave a Reply to Unconfirmed Bachelorette Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s